Former heavyweight champion James “Buster” Douglas will return to Canastota for the International Boxing Hall of Fame’s 24th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Weekend festivities, June 6-9th. 

“Buster Douglas authored one of the biggest upsets in boxing history to become heavyweight champion of the world,” said Hall of Fame director Edward Brophy. “The Hall of Fame is looking forward to welcoming him back to Canastota and I’m sure fans will be excited to
see him.”

A native of Columbus, Ohio, Douglas turned pro in 1981. Following wins over Randall (Tex) Cobb, Dave Jaco and former heavyweight champion Greg Page, he challenged Tony Tucker for the IBF heavyweight title in 1987. Although unsuccessful in his first bid for the
championship (TKO by 10), he rebounded to record wins over Trevor Berbick and Oliver McCall before meeting undisputed heavyweight champion Mike Tyson in Tokyo, Japan on February 11, 1990 for the title. Douglas, a decided underdog (42-1), became the first man to defeat Tyson when he scored a 10th round kayo to capture the championship. Douglas retired in 1990, but returned to the ring for
a comeback in 1996. In 1999 he hung up the gloves again with a professional record of 38-6-1, 1 NC (25KOs).
Events planned for the weekend include a banquet, a night of welterweight warriors, parade, golf tournament, boxing autograph card show, cocktail party and the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the Class of 2013. Inductees include two-division
champion Arturo “Thunder” Gatti (posthumous), five-time world champion Virgil “Quicksilver” Hill and two-time light flyweight champion Myung-Woo Yuh in the Modern category; “Let’s Get It On” referee Mills Lane, ring announcer Jimmy Lennon, Jr. and journalist Colin Hart. Posthumous inductees in the Old-Timer, Pioneer, Non-Participant and Observer categories will also be honored.

An impressive list of over 40 boxing greats from the United States and abroad are scheduled to participate in weekend festivities including Marvelous Marvin Hagler, “Irish” Micky Ward, James “Buddy” McGirt, Pipino Cuevas, Carlos Palomino, Aaron “The Hawk” Pryor, Julian Jackson, Wayne McCullough, Lucia Rijker, Mia St. John, Gerry Cooney,
Gasper Ortega, Tony DeMarco, Danny “Little Red” Lopez, Tracy Harris Patterson, Ruben Olivares, Carlos Ortiz, Ray Mercer and many

For more information on the Hall of Fame’s 24th Annual Induction Weekend please call (315) 697-7095, visit online at, on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Leave a Reply.